Hands-Free Law Takes Effect August 1
Maple Grove Police say the new hands-free law that takes effect on August 1 will be a big change for drivers. Police say distracted driving is one of the main complaints they hear from the community.
“It’s probably the number one compliant we receive in this city related to driving,” said Sgt. Dan Hamann of Maple Grove Police. “People will be sitting at a stoplight and you see the person not move because they are on their cell phone. As of tomorrow, that’s all going to change and it will be illegal to have a phone in your hand.”
Sgt. Hamann says if you can’t resist the ping of a cell phone, put it in your glove box before you start the car.
If an officer catches you with a cell phone in your hand, the violations can get pricey. For the first offense, your ticket starts at $50 plus court fees. Then, it goes up to $275 plus court fees for the second offense.
BikeMN applauds Hands-Free Law
Bicyclists are happy about the Hands-Free Law. They hope it will make the roadways a safer place for them.
“We hear from people that they are often scared for their lives when they bike, walk and roll on some of Minnesota’s roads and that’s just not right,” said Dorian Grilley, Executive Director of Bike MN in a press release. “We believe that people who walk and bike should have safe and convenient routes to their destinations everywhere in Minnesota.”
The Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota (BikeMN) found that 60 percent of bicyclists feel safe on the road. They have lobbied the state legislature for the law since 2016. They hope it will save the lives not only of people who ride their bikes, but pedestrians too.
Find more CCX News Top Stories Here