Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Robbinsdale garden club vies for State Fair blue ribbons
You might call it the Super Bowl of gardening. Twenty different garden clubs from across the metro are competing in the Federated Garden Clubs of Minnesota Flower Show at the Minnesota State Fair.

On Wednesday, members of the Robbinsdale Diggers Garden Club were careful as they hauled in their plants for showing. The goal is to show off the very best of a flower or leaf.

"You're cutting a little specimen and you put it into a bottle wrapped with tin foil or bubble wrap, which ever you prefer, and you put it in the top of the bottle with water in it, and you just stage the flower or leaf, "explained Danielle Smith, a Robbinsdale Diggers Garden Club member.

Betty Beck has 20 plants and three floral designs in the competition. She's put in a lot of time.

"Probably 20 to 30 hours prepping. I was here until 1 o'clock this morning, getting ready," she said.

That's because judges are looking for plant perfection.

"I'm looking for uniformity in color and form, in the entire plant. It should be uniform throughout the entire plant, so the spacing of the petals, the spacing of the leaves are all uniform," said judge Karen Hauwiller.

While the gardeners are eyeing blue ribbons, they say budding relationships with fellow gardeners is the top prize.

"Friendship, knowledge, I enjoy judging, anything about flowers, it's just fun," said Beck.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

8/31/2017





 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.