Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Plymouth gardener’s secrets to growing geraniums
Debbie Soeffker didn't let townhome living stop her from growing geraniums. She started with 15 plants and now has 40. The Plymouth resident has been growing them for 14 years.

"One week you'll have just a sea of red and the next week, you'll be able to see all the humming birds and whatever waiting to get to some food," says Soeffker.

You'll find several variety of geraniums in the yard, including miniature geraniums. The lemon geranium is a must-have, says Soeffker. The plants give off a nice citrus scent, but also keep mosquitoes away.

The experienced gardener says growing geraniums is relative easy. She mostly deadheads the expired blooms and waters when needed. And she says if you want the plants to come back, you'll have to winterize them.

"At the end of the season, you just quit watering them and don't cut them back, all the energy will go back into the plant itself," she explained.

Soeffker says put the plants in unsealed paper bags, storage bins or hang them upside down in a dry place.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

8/17/2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.