Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Crystal gardener has surprise for destructive critters
What can be done to protect your veggie garden from destructive critters? Libby Blyth in Crystal has some creative ideas. She's in the process of planting her raised garden beds filled with sugar snap peas, bush beans and pole beans.

Blyth's large yard and garden space was a selling point when she purchased the home last year. The garden guru ties a string on each side of the garden beds to keep plants organized. She also made a cucumber fence with garden twine and bamboo.

"I'm hoping to grow them vertically instead of on the ground so we get more yield of cucumbers and they don't get rot on the bottom," said Blyth.

The Crystal resident is also testing out something different to keep destructive critters away --- plastic snakes. So far it has worked.

"The snakes keep the squirrels and the birds away from the seedlings and they're working so far because the squirrels are very hungry," she said.

Blyth is also a member of the Binding Roots Gardening Club. She started most of her plants from seeds and grew most of the vegetables in her basement before planting them outside.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org
 
5/25/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.