Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Local artists make mark at State Fair
One of the biggest art exhibitions of the year will only be up a few more days at the Minnesota State Fair. 

"I think there's all levels from masterful to amateur and beginners. You can find it all," said watercolor artist Kristine Fretheim.

Fretheim has a watercolor piece called "Sedum Leaves" displayed in this year’s exhibition in the Fine Arts Building at the Minnesota State Fair.

There are more than 350 pieces of art on display at the Fine Arts Building and the northwest metro is well represented in entries.

More than 2,000 pieces were submitted for consideration. Those at the Minnesota State Fair are the ones that made it through the jury process.

"There's such a variety. There's fiber art and print making and oil painting and watercolors and sculpture and there's even more than that," said Fretheim. "There's drawing, so it's a fun, fun exhibit."

Mediums range from digital images such as a black and white one by Sharon Stavlo of Maple Grove, to sculpture carved from a block of limestone by Glen McKillips of Golden Valley, to a piece called "Masquerade" by Anthony Welihan of Plymouth.

"This is probably the most fun exhibit in Minnesota every year and it should not be missed," said Fretheim.

All the work will be on display at the Fine Arts Building through Sept. 4 in the northeast corner at the Minnesota State Fairgrounds from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org

September 1, 2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.