Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Art show features a contrast in styles
A brand new art exhibit opens in Robbinsdale that mixes two very different styles of art. You'll find it at the Robbin Gallery.

"You know his work is totally non objective and and mine is very realistic," said Mike Proulx.

He became intrigued with photorealism in the early 1980s and does some amazing work with a brush capturing on canvas what he photographs in life.

"I spend a lot of time walking around downtown Minneapolis taking pictures of the streets and the buildings and the windows and the skyways, and I'm kind of inspired by those shapes," he said.

Mike's work is a marvel in detail and the complex beauty in the the structures around us. He teamed up with Carl Johnson, a mixed media specialist who creates with and on almost any media and using traditional materials and found objects.

The question was, would the contrasting styles really work together?

"I kind of wondered how it would happen and and I said well Carl, lets not divide the gallery in half and just hang my work on one half and yours on the other," said Proulx. "I says lets just mix it all up and see what happens."

What happened is a thoroughly entertaining show with a surprise around every corner.

An artists' reception is being held Friday night.  The exhibit will be up through August 26th.


Neil Pursley, reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org

August 4, 2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.