Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Weekend Showcase: Stand-up paddleboarding

If you've ever wondered what it might be like to try paddleboarding, there are opportunities to learn this summer at Fish Lake in Maple Grove.

"I think people sometimes think that it’s more difficult than it actually is," said Three Rivers Park instructor Laura Wooley. "It’s just a matter of getting comfortable with it."

You can rent paddleboards at Fish Lake, but keep in mind, you need to find the correct size paddle to fit you.

"You’re reaching your hand as high up as it will go and your paddle should be right in the palm of your hand," demonstrated Wooley on the adjustable paddles.

The history of modern stand-up paddleboarding is basically an offshoot of surfing. So, a stand-up paddleboard closely resembles a tri-fin surfing longboard. It originated in Hawaii and really caught fire among the general public about four or five years ago.

Sarah Wheeler and her family got two stand-up paddleboards this year. As her kids played out on the lake, she told me she prefers the tranquility of early mornings for paddleboarding.

Wheeler said, "I always make sure I have a cup of coffee before I get here, and then I've got a good forty five minutes on the lake before I have to hit my desk or run some kids around. So it's just a very good way to start the day."

For more information on paddleboard classes or rentals go to Three Rivers Parks website


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org
@npursley12

June 23, 2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.