Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
“Fabrication” weaves into Maple Grove Arts Center
The Maple Grove Arts Center is marking its second year in its new space, located at 11666 Fountains Drive, with a new show called "Fabrication," a textile art show.

"I think we've got a great show and good mixture of fiber arts for people to come and see," said Caroline Munro, vice president of the Maple Grove Arts Center.

There are some examples you may never have heard of or imagined being in a textile art show.

"It’s the first time we’ve had someone who has demonstrated the art of millinery. You don't see a lot of hats here in America apart from winter hats," said Munro.

Millinery is women's apparel for the head. On display are three examples from local designer Karen Morris.

Other textile art forms on display include eco printing, a unique process using a plant's own pigment to dye images of itself onto fabric. Another is SAORI weaving, invented in Japan in 1969.

The "Fabrication" show is on display through Feb. 15 at the Maple Grove Arts Center.


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org

1/12/2018

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.