Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Golden Valley school helps demystify computer science
From an outsider’s perspective, it first looks like students are merely playing a computer game in class this week at the School of Engineering and Arts in Golden Valley. Instead, they are learning about computer coding.

"It’s about understanding sequences and patterns and being able to relay that with confidence," says Cara Rieckenberg, program coordinator at SEA. "If we think more and more about how technology is impacting our world today and thinking about what it’s going to be 5-10 years down the road, our kids need to be producers and not just users of it."

The focus on coding at SEA is nothing new. Students learn some element of coding at all grade levels. However, for Computer Science Education Week students are participating in Hour of Code, which challenges students to spend an hour exploring computer programming. Chances are, they might discover it’s easier than they thought.

"It kind of helps us to learn how to code and if we want to make our own games, this would be a start and an extra push," says student McKenzie McMoore.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

12/6/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.