Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Police keep close watch for safety violations near school buses
School bus drivers and Plymouth police agree that school bus violations seem to be getting worse. They are working together to identify and target problem areas.

"It’s become a big problem and we don’t want to see anybody get hurt," says Calvin Meyer, bus driver and Plymouth location manager which serves students attending Wayzata Schools. "If you aren’t following that rule of stopping with the stop arm, you are putting kids’ lives in jeopardy."

Meyer met with Plymouth Police to talk about problem areas in Plymouth. Since then, Plymouth Police have been out at problem areas looking for school bus safety violations.

"It seems like it has gotten worse," says officer Steve Thomas. "We’re trying to make it so none of the kids get hurt out here."

Drivers must stop at least 20 feet behind a bus. Plymouth Police haven't issued any tickets with this crackdown, but so far this year there have been 41 reports of stop arm violations.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

November 13, 2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.