Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Wanted: sewing supplies for Uganda
If you can sew, knit, or crochet, or you know someone who does, you can make a big difference in somebody's life.

A Maple Grove woman is collecting sewing supplies to help girls and women near a refugee camp in Uganda.

Judy Johnson's home is filling up with sewing machines of all eras, as well as fabric and other accessories for sewing, knitting and crocheting. The Maple Grove Rotary member is collecting donations until Sept. 17.

"People have been extremely generous, and they're cleaning out their closets too, a lot of mothers', and grandmothers' [sewing] machines are in here," said Judy Johnson of the items already donated. 

Five area rotary clubs from Maple Grove, Brooklyn Park, Chanhassen, Rogers and Brooklyn Center chipped in with an $11,000 grant and a shipping container to cover the cost of sending all the items to Uganda this fall. In December, Johnson and a group of others will travel to Uganda to set up a sewing center for women, near a large refugee camp.

"They've traveled and traveled, and they have nothing to earn money to take care of their babies, except prostitution, so we're taking them out of that, giving them another skill, where they can learn to make items, sew items, knit items, crochet items, and make a dollar and take care of their families," said Johnson.

One of the first things Johnson and others will teach the women is how to make washable feminine hygiene kits so girls and women can go to school and work.

If you you would like to donate items, contact Judy Johnson via email: jjohnson9730@msn.com


Alexandra Renslo reporting
arenslo@ccxmedia.org
Twitter: @alexrenslo

July 20, 2017





 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.