Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Osseo water tower gets historic designation
It's a major victory for efforts to save Osseo's water tower. After more than four years of work to preserve it, the tower has now earned the special distinction of being listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

"It's an honor first and foremost," said Kathleen Gette, co-chair of the Osseo Historic Preservation Commission.

Gette, an Osseo resident and native, helped lead the effort to get the national designation for the 102-year-old water tower. Osseo's water tower is one of the few municipal water towers of its kind left in the area.

Although the water tower is no longer functional, many in the Osseo area have shown their support to save it.

"That's what the tower symbolizes: it's a symbol of Osseo and Osseo's history, the people of Osseo. And I'm just so grateful there was so much support. People love the tower," said Gette.

With the tower now on the National Register of Historic Places, Gette said it opens up funding opportunities to help pay for potential structural repairs and repainting. Gette is currently working on a grant application to help pay for the cost of inspecting the tower and its condition.


Alexandra Renslo reporting
arenslo@ccxmedia.org

June 16, 2017




 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.