Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Plymouth police urge caution with flashing yellow turn arrows
Flashing yellow turn arrows are increasingly common at busy intersections across the metro, but police in Plymouth say risky moves by drivers have led to a growing number of collisions.

The intersection of Rockford Road and Fernbrook Lane is one of the areas on the city's radar.

Hennepin County installed flashing yellow turn arrows in March of last year. The signal allows waiting motorists to make a left hand turn after yielding to oncoming traffic and pedestrians.

But Plymouth police say from the time they were installed to February of this year, 34 crashes took place at that intersection. Nearly half were directly related to vehicles failing to yield.

"If you don't think that there's enough room for you to turn, then don't turn," said Plymouth Patrol Officer Scott Kirchner. "Don't take the chance, don't risk it. The light will eventually cycle through, and go to a green turn arrow, and you'll have a hundred percent of the right-of-way."

Traffic officers have requested that signals be changed to disable flashing yellow arrows when pedestrians push the walk button.


Delane Cleveland
dcleveland@ccxmedia.org

April 10, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.