Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Local group sheds light on Syrian refugees
After helping with medical relief in a Syrian refugee community, Lindsey Smith had a desire to do more. She helped organize a fundraiser with the Northwest Islamic Community Center in Plymouth in January that raised $125,000.

Even though she does not share Syrian heritage, she is passionate about helping refugees and educating people about the suffering in Syria and refugee communities.

"They are really limited on resources," says Smith. "Several providers have been hospitalized due to the effects of the gas. It’s just a disaster, but we are involved and we are trying and we are helping people wherever we can."

Thursday night, the U.S. fired cruise missiles at a Syrian air base after Syrian planes dropped chemical weapons that killed dozens of Syrians.

Smith says there is a fundraiser on Friday, April 28 where people can help raise money for Syrian refugees. Any medical personnel who might be interested in serving can also join the nonprofit, non-political group Syrian American Medical Society.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

April 17, 2017




 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.