Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
I-94 becomes more challenging for commuters
The I-94 road project in Brooklyn Center and Minneapolis is heating up.

"I firmly believe in what they're doing with the infrastructure in reworking I-94," said Brooklyn Center Mayor Tim Willson. "I think it's long overdue."

MnDOT is beginning a $46 million project to fix nine miles of pavement and 50 bridges. The road work is now kicking into high gear.

Brooklyn Center's mayor had a word of advice for motorists.

"Don't get angry," Willson said. "Don't start doing road rage or any of those things. There is nothing we can do about it."

Minnesota's main street will have multiple lanes closed. Rush hour traffic was reduced to a crawl Monday morning. That will be the new normal for spring and summer commutes.

On Thursday the potential for gridlock will escalate as I-94's eastbound ramp to I-694 east and state Highway 252 will close.

"252 is going to be a problem," Willson said. "It's going to be a mess. MnDOT knows it. We know it."

This will also put more vehicles on the streets of Brooklyn Center as drivers look for alternate routes.
Brooklyn Center officials expect to see cut through traffic on Brooklyn Boulevard, Humboldt Avenue, 85th, 73rd, 70th and 66th streets.

There will be an I-94 open house on Thursday night from 6 to 8 pm at the Urban League in Minneapolis.


Eric Nelson, reporting
enelson@ccxmedia.org

April 3, 2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.