Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Local food shelves push for last minute donations
Food is the most common reason families first step through the doors of Interfaith Outreach in Plymouth. But the nonprofit helps families with so many more needs than just food.

“The donations not only help keep food on the table, but also support the causes of hunger like the employment program and family support services that are so critical of families trying to upgrade their income” says Ladonna Hoy, executive director.

During March, food shelves raise money and food for Minnesota Food Share month which allows food shelves to leverage additional dollars from the Minneapolis Council of Churches.

Interfaith Outreach has reached 73 percent of its fundraising goals during March and hope to have a last minute push of donations help them exceed their goal of $150,000 raised and 100,000 pounds of food collected. Donations of food can be collected until Saturday April 1, but monetary donations that will still be counted toward the goal can be collected until midnight Sunday night.

Last year, community donations made more than 1.5 million meals possible.

Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

March 31, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.