Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Mother of Barway Collins could face deportation
She came to Minnesota to bury her son. Now, the mother of  Barway Collins is facing deportation.

Louise Karluah came to the United States from Liberia on a special, temporary visa. On March 18, 2015, her 10-year-old son Barway went missing. Several weeks later, Barway's body was found in the Mississippi river. He was murdered by his own father, Pierre Collins. Karluah stayed in Minnesota for the trial and moved to New Hope. But now immigration officials are giving her 90 days to leave the country after her visa expired. 

However, some Liberian officials say it's not safe for her to head back to the West African country. They say Karluah has received death threats from some people who blame her for Pierre Collins' legal troubles.

"She will not be protected if she goes back there," said Arthur Biah, co-chair of the Organization for Liberians in Minnesota.  "With somebody blaming you for putting their brother, or relative in jail, in America. There will be people who will still not forgive her, even though she's a victim."

The group is trying to raise at least $10,000 for legal fees to help Karluah stay in the country. Anyone wanting to help can donate to the Wells Fargo in Brooklyn Park. Meanwhile, Brooklyn Park Council member, Lisa Jacobson has reached out to Senator Amy Klobuchar to see if she can assist in anyway.

Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

3/30/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.