Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Fire destroys Plymouth home
A fire late Tuesday in Plymouth destroyed a home where at least six people were living.

Everyone was able to get out safely, but when firefighters first arrived after 11:30 p.m. Tuesday, they thought one person might still be inside.

"When I came, the fire was coming out of the front door," said Plymouth Fire Chief Rodger Coppa. "There wasn't a lot of space that someone could survive."

It was later determined everyone was out of the home on the 14000 block of 31st Avenue North. The cause of the fire is still under investigation, but firefighters know it started in the back, near a three-season porch.

The fire department believes the home was being rented out. The home is uninhabitable due to smoke and water damage.

Coppa says one man was taken to North Memorial Hospital with non-life-threatening injuries after he was rescued from a basement bedroom.

"The roommates basically broke out a window, went in, and woke up the roommate and then took him back out of that basement window," said Coppa.
 
It took 50 firefighters about three hours to knock down the fire. Golden Valley and Wayzata Fire Departments were among the cities that assisted Plymouth with the fire.


Alexandra Renslo reporting
arenslo@ccxmedia.org
Twitter: @alexrenslo

March 29, 2017



 

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.