Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Osseo Police plan D.C. trip to honor its history
The Osseo Police Department is preparing for a trip to our nation's capital this spring to honor one of its own killed in the line of duty more than a hundred years ago.

In 1916, Osseo's Village Marshal James L. Gardner was shot to death after responding to a domestic dispute.

Osseo's current police chief Shane Mikkelson recently learned that Marshal Gardner's name is not on the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial in Washington, DC. That wall recognizes the names of more than 20,000 officers killed in the line of duty.

In May, all five of Osseo's full–time police officers will travel to Washington, DC to see Marshal James Gardner's name put on the wall.

"He was never recognized nationally as somebody who laid his life down for the public, and now he's going to be inscribed," said Mikkelson. "We do not have, as far as we know, anyone who is a direct relative of Village Marshal Gardner, and so we are moving forward with being there for him."

The police department has raised $7,000, which will cover trip expenses as well as part–time officers to cover the work shifts while the officers are gone.

Alexandra Renslo reporting
arenslo@ccxmedia.org
Twitter: @alexrenslo

March 14, 2017





 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.