Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Plymouth singer chases dream, signs with record label
A broken collarbone sidelined Julia Brennan last summer, but it might be the best thing to happen to her budding musical career. She had written and recorded three songs months earlier, and used her forced time on the couch to release them on iTunes before emailing a request to a local radio station.

"I sent it in to KDWB’s Make my Monday saying it would make my Monday if you would play my song," says Brennan. "I didn’t know I was going to be on air, but I was. I didn’t know they were going to play 60 seconds of my song, but they did. It was just so odd that it happened, but it was so cool that it did."

That airtime sparked a surge in downloads of Brennan’s song "Inner Demons" and record labels took notice.

"Everything happened so unbelievably fast because I got 60 seconds on Monday and by Tuesday and Wednesday, I had emails from three different labels," says Brennan. "I had never been to New York City, let alone met with a record label. So, they flew me to New York City for the first time, went to an Adele concert, and the next day I signed so it was like the most exciting New York City moment ever."

Brennan signed with Columbia Records and is hoping to release her debut album this year.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

2/24/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.