Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Cooper launches aerospace class
Anytime a class can step outside and shoot off rockets, it’s a good day. But for Cooper High School's new aerospace engineering class, it's a time to take measurements and compare reports.

"We’re launching the rocket to take data for our reports," says Mo Dibba, a senior taking the class.

Teacher Tim Fitze says the class is one of the few offered in metro area schools. Cooper High School has an introductory aerospace class and plans to add civil architecture and design development in the future, which means students will have the option to take four years of engineering classes in high school.

"We need engineers and we need technical skills because companies want to grab high flyers like these after high school," says Fitze.

On rocket launch day, students are crunching numbers and recording outcomes. Students built the rockets and worked to chart the trajectory before stepping outside.

"Today we are finding a lot of them don't launch," explained Quinn Henthorne, a sophomore.

Students worked together, problem solving why rockets wouldn’t launch correctly, which was a sight teacher Tim Fitze was happy to see.

"Failure is not an option. I don’t like that quote. Failure is an option because you have to know what to do if it does fail," says Fitze. "When they figure it out without me telling them what to do, that’s a great learning experience."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

2/23/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.