Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Brooklyn Center man charged in fatal hit-and-run
Charges have been filed in a fatal hit and run case in Brooklyn Park.

On Saturday, Feb. 4, at about 6 p.m., a man was struck near the intersection of Brooklyn Boulevard and Kentucky Avenue North. According to the criminal complaint, one witness heard "screeching tires" and another saw a man "propelled into the air." The driver was seen headed westbound on Brooklyn Boulevard.

The victim died on Feb. 8. The Hennepin County Medical Examiner identified him as John Ingram, 50, of Brooklyn Park.

About an hour after the accident, the driver, Ahmed Hassan, 30, of Brooklyn Center, turned himself in to police. The complaint says Hassan worked for Amazon delivery and had a pick-up in Maple Grove. Hassan later told police he was not feeling well and had not taken his prescribed insulin, and said "I did not know what I hit."

Hassan initially drove to Brooklyn Center where his brother-in-law lived. The brother-in-law noticed Hassan was "shaking uncontrollably." The brother-in-law told police that Hassan "wanted to be truthful and could not lie anymore," the complaint said.


Corey Bork, reporting
cbork@ccxmedia.org

2/15/2017




 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.