Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Sacred Heart Lego Robotics team headed to state
The Lego Robotics team from Sacred Heart Catholic School is headed to the state tournament.

The 10-member team has been working on a Lego robot since August. Each student added his or her own special touch to the project.

"I think it's fun that we get to program and put together and problem solve different missions," said seventh-grader Nora Conzemius.

The team's robot has four motors and several different sensors, as well as a conveyor belt and a special attachment system. During the state competition, the group must complete several tasks with their robot. The students will only have two and a half minutes to complete each task.

"I think the best thing we have is the gravity attachment, because it's easy to put in and it doesn't take as much time," said eight-grader Grace Gooley. "The judges have complemented us on it and we've won design awards because of it."

At state, robotics teams will also be judged on mechanical design, programming and strategy. And the students will get points for how well they work together as a team.

"The effort these kids put in is really impressive and they were lucky enough to execute when the day came." said coach Eric Conzemius.

Sacred Heart will go up against 60 other teams from around the state. The state tournament is Saturday, Feb. 25 at Washington Technology Magnet School in St. Paul.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

2/15/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.