Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Robbinsdale police investigate Highway 100 shooting
One man was struck and injured by gunfire Friday night as he was driving along Highway 100 in Robbinsdale. The shooting happened around 10 p.m. Friday on Highway 100 near 42nd Avenue.

"We believe at least a dozen shots were fired," said Police Chief Jim Franzen.

Franzen says the shooter used a semiautomatic handgun. The shooting victim told police he was driving southbound on Highway 100 when another vehicle pulled up alongside and opened fire.

The victim was hit in the shoulder and managed to drive himself to North Memorial Medical Center. His front-seat passenger was not hurt.

After the shooting Friday night, police shut down Highway 100 between 42nd and 36th so they could gather evidence.

"We don't have any indication that this was related to any kind of road rage incident or driving conduct incident," said Franzen.

Robbinsdale police are trying to determine whether this was a random shooting and have several investigators on the case. Anyone with information is urged to contact Robbinsdale police at (763) 531-1220.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

2/6/2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.