Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Weekend Showcase: "Land. Water. Life"

Water is the unifying theme behind a new Robbin Gallery exhibit in Robbinsdale titled "Land. Water Life." Husband and wife duo Peter Truran and Sylvia Horwitz team up for the exhibit focusing on one of the simple building blocks of life.

The show features the photography of Horwitz, who documents the protests of the Dakota Pipeline around water issues, and the drawing and paintings of Truran, fascinated from a young age by moving water.

"I started off by doing some drawing of some waterfalls in Wales and the challenges of that really made me want to draw and paint the waterfalls and streams in northern Minnesota on the North Shore," said Truran.

Truran continued, "When Sylvia got involved with this project with the pipeline I went down there with her and decided to do some paintings of the water there."

Horwitz visited the encampment at Standing Rock, N.D., last fall where she heard protesters voice a concern.

"There was risk of a leak into the Missouri River which would contaminate the drinking water, not only for the Sioux reservation, but for the communities downstream," said Horwitz.

"Land. Water. Life." will be on display in the Robbin Gallery through Feb. 25 and the artists will be present every Thursday evening from 5 to 8 p.m. to discuss their exhibit.


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org
@npursley12

2/3/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.