Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Suburban businesses prep for Minneapolis Super Bowl
The Super Bowl might not be played in Minneapolis until 2018, but local businesses are already starting to count down the days.

"It’s really starting to feel real," says Tara Halen, director of sales for TPI Hospitality, which runs Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Golden Valley as well as two other hotels. "It’s really a once in a lifetime opportunity. We want to introduce Minnesota and the Twin Cities area to everyone coming to town."

First-ring suburbs can expect to have hotels fill up. In fact, the NFL is banking on it.

"The NFL required 19,000 rooms as a commitment and Minneapolis has 5,000 rooms, so the osmosis effect is pretty strong," says Becky Baaken, president and CEO of Discover St. Louis Park.

Since January 1, Discover St. Louis Park also includes promoting Golden Valley assets. For cities like St. Louis Park and Golden Valley, the pressure is on to encouraging people to stick around for a few days after the Superbowl to see local attractions.

Bakken hopes people stay to experience winter recreation in Theodore Wirth Park or fat tire biking at Brookview.

"There’s a lot to offer in this state, so the push is to have communities think of their unique assets and share them at the statewide level."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

February 3, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.