Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Maranatha student uses her talents to uplift others
Mikayla Stein is smart, ambitious, artistic and determined.  The Maranatha Christian Academy senior does so many things well, it's hard to know where to start.

Stein participates in 10 different clubs and organizations and is also senior editor of the school yearbook.

"Yearbook has helped me a lot to develop my artistic and leadership skills," she explained. "I've been able to use my design, trying to create themes and designs."

Stein also likes to draw and paint using her talents to uplift others, participating in an art project making beautiful portraits of orphans in countries such as Ghana, Romania and Haiti. The artwork is then delivered to the children.

She's also an accomplished pianist and has been playing since first grade. Stein says she stays in tune by relying on her faith.

"A lot of times it's hard to trying to balance everything like social life, all the clubs and school work, so it's just really important to rely on God in order to just keep that faith strong even when it feels like you're overwhelmed," she said.

Stein wants to study psychology or neuroscience and has applied to several universities, including the University of Minnesota and Washington University in Saint Louis.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

2/2/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.