Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Golden Valley mother sheds light on opioid epidemic
There were an alarming number of opioid deaths last year in Hennepin County. As a result the Hennepin County Sheriff's Office has begun a year-long prevention campaign called "NOverdose."

Golden Valley's Rhoda Michaelynn lost her son, Adam, in 2016 to an overdose and is trying to make people aware of this crisis.

"The problem is immense," Michaelynn said. "On so many different levels it affects people of all different economic groups,  education groups. It's people who don't think it will happen to them."

Minnesota had a reported 338 opioid overdose deaths in 2015, up 6 percent from the year before. The problem affects people in major cities, rural areas and the suburbs. The Hennepin County Sheriff's Office is hoping to team up with law enforcement agencies, school districts and other groups who can assist in this effort.

The goal is to educate parents and kids about drug risk and current trends.

Michaelynn says there needs to better insurance coverage for those battling opioid addiction. Some addicts hide their problem because of embarrassment and shame, a stigma she says needs to be erased.


Eric Nelson, reporting
enelson@ccxnews.org

January 31, 2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.