Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Crystal school takes on “The Great Kindness Challenge”
The front entrance at Neill Elementary in Crystal Monday morning was loud. Staff and community leaders cheered and high-fived students as they walked through the doors.

Teachers and staff lined up and made a tunnel with their hands. The so-called "kindness tunnel" put a lot of smiles on students' faces.

"It was a fantastic way say good morning, fantastic way to share some love with these students," said Crystal City Council member Nancy LaRoche.

Monday was day one of "The Great Kindness Challenge," a worldwide campaign aimed at preventing bullying. There are events planned all week. Students were also given a check list of things they can do to be nice to others.

The goal is to keep up the effort, long after the campaign is over.

"We want them to understand that kindness true, genuine acts of kindness can not only change themselves, but their community, other people and really eventually the whole world," said Kelly Kulda, a school behavior coach.

The student council is also talking to students and staff about ways to be kind in the community.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

1/30/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.