Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Maple Grove school wins literacy sweepstakes
An online sweepstakes contest by Campbell's Soup Company provided an opportunity to win money for Elm Creek Elementary.

"We were fishing around for grants and this popped up as a sweepstakes, so we said let’s try and enter," says Emily McMullin, Elm Creek Elementary PTO vice president and treasurer. "We put it on our Facebook page for our families to enter and then we got the message that we qualified."

The school became one of 100 to win a $10,000 prize in Campbell’s Grand Stand for Schools. They spent the money on literacy kits that had been on the school’s wish list. The school uses several programs to help get students reading and writing at current grade levels and had success with one they hoped to someday expand. This prize money made that possible.

"Having that bank of interventions is really important because if something doesn’t work, we want to try a few other sources to increase reading skills," says Emily Davis, the school psychologist. "Our PTO is very active in always searching for opportunities. They stumbled upon this opportunity and were able to get the funds for us."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

January 27, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.