Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Weekend Showcase: "Fancy Nancy"
The latest production at Stages Theatre in Hopkins invites you to come down and get your fancy on. "Fancy Nancy" is based on the popular line of children's books about a very precocious young girl.

"We think Nancy is about 6. She's definitely in school and taking classes, but not into anything too complex yet,"
said Nikki Swoboda, director and choreographer for the production.

Everything Nancy does she likes to be fancy.. from the way she dresses.. to decorating her room.. to the way she talks. Zoe Hollander of Maple Grove plays a very fancy Nancy.

"She's quite intelligent I think because she likes to use these fancy words but she uses them correctly and the knows what they mean and to her why it's the best thing ever," said Hollander.

The boys are outnumbered almost two to one in Nancy’s world, but Jackson Lyon plays the lead male character, Lionel, and Nancy still considers him on of her buds.

"He's very silly. He loves cookies and sharks," said Lyon about his uncomplicated character.

In the story Nancy learns a valuable life lesson when instead of getting to play the glamorous mermaid in the school play, she gets assigned to play a tree.

"I think it's a really nice message of accepting when things go wrong but still being able to be there for your friends and support them," said Hollander.

"Fancy Nancy" runs now through Feb. 20 at Stages Theatre in Hopkins. 


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org
@npursley12

January 27, 2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.