Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Brooklyn Center police warn about "movie prop" money
Hollywood is the land of make believe and that includes the money used in movies too. Now, some of that phony currency is circulating in Brooklyn Center, as movie prop money is being passed off as the real thing. Brooklyn Center police say it is easy to be fooled by the counterfeit cash.

"What this version of counterfeit money is, it looks very real, it feels real," said Rick Gabler of the Brooklyn Center Police Department. "When you look at it, it says very clearly, for 'motion picture use only.' It's money that is used as prop money for movies and TV shows, but at first glance it looks like real money."

So far there have been two reported cases of movie prop money showing up in Brooklyn Center. One was spotted at a Denny's restaurant, another was used at a Super America gas station. It is a felony to knowingly circulate fake cash in Minnesota.

"What makes this different than counterfeit money, this is essentially novelty," Gabler said. "You can have it, it becomes criminal when you try to pass it."

Brooklyn Center police say they have no suspects in these recent cases and believe they're are not connected to each other.

If you can't figure out if your currency is real, police say there's a counterfeit money detector pen/marker that can be purchased at office supply stores.


Eric Nelson, reporting
enelson@ccxmedia.org

1/26/2017


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.