Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Wayzata students create wall to debunk stereotypes
Wayzata High School students are doing something unique to break down stereotypes. Lauren Levi and her classmate, Lauren Tuch, turned a project for a fiction class into something much bigger.

"A lot of discrimination was going on after the election, and there had been things happening that I've seen on the news," said Levi.

Levi and Tuch created 56 message posters that they put on the school's second-floor wall. The messages make you think. Some are eye-opening. One of the messages says "you're pretty for a black girl. Why can't I just be pretty?" Another reads "people think I'm going to be successful because I'm Jewish. I'm actually going to make it because I work hard and I go after my dreams."

The wall has been up for over a month, but it has already impacted the school.

"I think society in general tries to defines people's identities for them," said Wayzata senior Aman Sharma. "I think it's important for people to realize who they are by themselves and define their own identity."

And that's exactly the message the creators want to get across. They want people to love the skin they're in, and not let society define them.

"I hope they realize who they think they are and who they want to be is so much more important than what other people see in them," said Tuch.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

1/24/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.