Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Robbinsdale schools use creativity to fight hunger
John Engebretsen and his daughter, Haley, know that when it comes to making ceramics, it’s always good to have a plan B. They've been coming to make a bowl as part of the Empty Bowls fundraiser by Robbinsdale Area Schools for the last three years. This year John is making a key to hold other keys.

"It’s not every day you get to play with clay," says Engebretsen, who says he will come back and purchase it for the fundraiser. "You put it among 100 other bowls and it’s hard to find. It’s kind of like a treasure hunt."

The Engebretsens came to make the bowls and other objects as part of the free community bowl making events sponsored by the Seven Dreams Education Foundation. The bowls will be glazed and sold as part of the 7th Annual Empty Bowls fundraiser on March 7 at Cooper High School.

Free Community Bowl Making Events
Thursday, February 2
5:00-7:30 p.m.
Plymouth Middle School

Saturdays, January 21 and February 4
10 a.m., 11 a.m., and noon
Robbinsdale Middle School


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

1/20/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.