Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Robbinsdale Schools to trim $4.2 million
Since a 2014 report revealed the need to realign the budget, Robbinsdale Area Schools have known they face making some tough decisions. Superintendent Carlton Jenkins is adamant the budget won’t impact classroom size.

"We are being as strategic as we can," said Jenkins. “What we are doing is staying away from the classroom."

There are five factors driving realignment. Federal stimulus dollars will be discontinued, which means a loss of $1.2 million. Recalibration of anticipated state funding means the district could lose around $750,000. Enrollment changes and cost of living adjustments mean lost money as well. The long-term strategic investment decision to reopen Sandburg Middle School and Pilgrim Lane Elementary also comes with costs. All told, the district has to cut $4.2 million.

Jenkins says changes will come in places students and the public will not notice. Those changes include areas like business services, tech support, tuition billing and facility management. Some administrative or support staff may be eliminated.

"This is a short-term, long-term decision when we do budgets," says Jenkins. "We are just trying to make us tighter now and prepare us for what we are trying to do in the future with students."

The Robbinsdale School Board does not vote on the final budget until June.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

1/19/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.