Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Brooklyn Park elementary school receives national award for healthy initiatives
Gone are the days in school where kids must sit rigidly in desks for hours to learn. Teachers experiment with activities to keep students alert and active. At Fair Oaks Elementary School, if students are growing restless, a teacher can implement a "brain break" where they encourage students to get up and perhaps do a few exercises or yoga poses.

"If you are keeping your body active, it helps you focus and that feeds into academic success," says Anne Strootman, resource manager at the school. "It’s not just one part of the school that participates, it’s the entire building."

Feeding that appetite to learn also transfers naturally into the lunchroom, where cafeteria staff work to make healthy choices more appealing. They cut up fruits and vegetables to make them interesting and easy to eat. The school added a salad bar for older students and staff.

The changes are catching the attention of people at the Department of Agriculture. The school recently won recognition for "Healthier U.S. School Challenge: Smarter lunchrooms".

Fair Oaks Elementary is the only school in Minnesota to win the honor. Along with the award, the school will get a $1,000 stipend that they plan on spending to add before or after school programs that promote fitness.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

January 13, 2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.