Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Money Savers: Year-end moves to make now
Financial resolutions are some of the top resolutions made each year, but before the New Year rings in, there are a few smart money moves you should make.

Donate to charities.
Use charitynavigator.org to research the validity of nonprofits before you donate. Keep you receipts to use for tax deductions and remember you can also deduct any expenses from volunteering, like mileage, but you cannot deduct your hours.

Max out retirement contributions.
Take a closer look at your 401k contributions and whether you are taking advantage of them appropriately.

Review FSA account.
Know your FSA plan. Do you lose money at the end of the year if it is unused? If so, make sure you use it before December 31.

Pay college costs early.
Depending on your situation, consider paying tuition early so you can use the deduction on your taxes.
Set a plan in motion.

Planning ahead makes all the difference in maximizing your money. “As the saying goes, failure to plan is a plan to fail,” says Larry Kallevig, from Haven Financial Group. “Planning doesn’t come easy for lots of people. If you aren’t good at it, maybe this is the year to do it no matter what the age.”

Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@twelve.tv
on Twitter: @sslatton



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.