Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Police, Wayzata students bond over trapshooting

Plymouth Police teamed up with Wayzata High School students in a unique way: a friendly match of trap shooting.

"I’ve never really shot with a police officer before so it was it was different, but it was fun," said Wayzata trap team member Jack Shoen.

The Wayzata trapshooting team invited Plymouth police offices out for an afternoon of busting clay birds, but Jim Sable, executive director of the USA High School Clay Target League, saw a bigger picture.

"The only time that the kids have an opportunity to meet a policeman is if they're speeding on their way home from school and I thought that's not the kind of relationship we want them to learn to have," said Sable.

The positive interaction wasn't the only benefit. It allowed the students to test their skills against Plymouth's finest.

"It was fun just for the competition seeing if you could out shoot a police officer," said Shoen. "I think I did," he grinned.


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@twelve.tv
@npursley12

8/10/2016

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.