Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Standout Student: West Lutheran’s Rebecca Figueroa

Standout Student Rebecca Figueroa of West Lutheran High School is taking a gift and refining it with an eye on college. The music theory class that Figueroa and two other students had designed for them at West Lutheran High School is a college-level course which Figueroa will need as she pursues her degree in vocal music.

"Rebecca has a very pure sounding voice, very pleasant to listen to," said Gregory Baures, chair of West Lutheran's Fine Arts Department. "She also has the ability to change the style of her voice a little bit so that way it has a little bit more of the pop edge to it."

Figueroa carries a respectable 3.1 GPA and is already enrolled in Martin Luther College in New Ulm, Minn. Her goal is to become a high school choir director.

"I think I chose that route because not only do I love music but I found that being at West and seeing how the teachers act with each other and the fellowship that they have together is something I would like to experience in my own life," said Figueroa.

Although blessed in talent, it is Rebecca’s humility that has also made her stand out.

"She will never be a student that says all eyes on me and I have to have all the attention," said Susan Decker, Rebecca's theater drama instructor and English teacher. "Her attitude really says all eyes on God, and that's what we try to accomplish here."


Neil Pursley reporting
npursley@twelve.tv
@npursley12

5/12/2016

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.