Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Orange pumpkins turn teal for food allergy sufferers
What's your favorite Halloween candy? Families with children who have food allergies have a tough time navigating trick-or-treating fun.

The Teal Pumpkin Project, started by Food Allergy Research Education (FARE) in 2014, encourages people to offer an allergy-free item and put a teal pumpkin on your doorstep to let the neighborhood know about it. There are several ideas for allergy free options on www.foodallergy.org.

This fall, several people have posted threads on local Facebook groups to promote the Teal Pumpkin Project.

"The teal pumpkin project is really cool for my family because my daughter has food allergies, so it's a way to show being inclusive to everyone who might not be able to eat candy or certain types of candy on Halloween," said Missy Berggren, who has two teal pumpkins on the porch of her Crystal home.

Berggren blogs about life with food allergies on www.marketingmama.com.

"I love that the Teal Pumpkin Project is raising awareness and I'm hearing a lot of people who don't have food allergies that are starting to do it," said Berggren.

The Hy-Vee store in New Hope had a teal pumpkin display to educate people on the project. If people do not want to paint or buy a teal pumpkin, they can print a sign off the Food Allergy website advertising they carry allergy-free treats.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@twelve.tv
on Twitter: @sslatton

October 30, 2015

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.