Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Brooklyn Center man keeps ink-stained tradition alive
Paul Soule was and still is a newspaperman.

"It was the teamwork. Every day was different. Every edition is different," remembers Soule. "Today it was about the Fair. Tomorrow it was about back to school."

Soule had a career working the presses at large and small newspapers. He says at one time or another he worked every part of the printing process and sometimes delivered papers too. Even though Soule is retired now, he shares his newspaper knowledge with people each year at the Minnesota Newspaper Museum at the State Fair.

"These aren't machines that you see on a regular basis. To have people who are that knowledgeable and can share that information is huge," says volunteer coordinator Michelle Leonard. "I don't know where I'm going to find more Pauls."

Leonard coordinates filling 160 volunteer slots each year and relies on newspaper veterans like Paul to share their knowledge and skill more than once during the Minnesota State Fair.

"He's very good at teaching and explaining what he's doing. I'm very fortunate to have people like him on our staff," says Leonard.

You can stop by and see how newspapers were made at the Minnesota Newspaper Museum  located on the street level of the 4H building. It's open daily from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m., except on Labor Day when it closes at 6 p.m.

Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@twelve.tv
on Twitter: @sslatton

August 28, 2015

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.