Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Maple Grove runner reacts to Boston Marathon verdicts
When faced with adversity, Maple Grove runner Dawn Olson says runners always persevere.

"I decided to run Boston before the bombing ever happened," says Olson. "A lot in our group were scared and nervous, but we knew we had to do it."

Olson ran the marathon the year after the bombing. She says it was an emotional race.

"You see the memorial, you see the finish line and you are doing it for all the people who didn't finish and for the city," says Olson.

When she heard that a jury found Dzhokhar Tsarnaev guilty of all 30 counts connected with the bombings, it brought back the emotion of the race.

"I think we all knew he would be found guilty. I think it's one step closer to closure," says Olson. "I think [the city of Boston] was scared no one would come back and run it again. I think for Boston, too, that's another step closer for healing. Each year will be a healing year and now that he's been found guilty, they can run the race."

The 2015 Boson Marathon will be on April 20. Dawn Olson will not be running, as she is nursing an injury. She hopes to run the Boston Marathon again someday.


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@twelve.tv
on Twitter: @sslatton

4/9/2015

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.