Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Greenwood Elementary spreads the Valentine love
Fourth grade students at Greenwood Elementary helped a classmate prepare for a very big Valentine's Day project. For the seventh year, Carly Glomstad of Maple Grove has delivered valentines and goodie bags to senior centers, nonprofit daycares, and charities. She collects money and assistance from family and friends. This year, Carly has collected more than $4200 worth of donations and plans to deliver valentines to more than 600 people.  

"I hope they are pretty happy," says Carly. "A lot of the times at the assisted living facilities, they are really happy they get to see someone be there for them because they don't see their family a lot."

Carly and her family have been doing this project since she was 4–years old, after Carly was inspired by the book Love, Ruby Valentine by Laurie B. Friedman. Her website www.carlyvalentine.com keeps track of the growth of the project.

Carly plans to start delivering Valentines to the community on Saturday.

Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@twelve.tv
on Twitter: @sslatton

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
 

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.