School Spotlight: Brooklyn Middle STEAM School
Inclusive, innovative and engaging are some of the key components of Brooklyn Middle STEAM School. Officials say students come prepared to learn each day.

"They're creative, they're innovative, but you have to give them the skills, the tools, and the experiences, said Principal Kim Monette, who's has been at the school for 20 years.

Monette says the goal is to provide experience and opportunities for students. That includes a lot of hands-on learning. Besides working with robots and other technology, twice a month, students have a bag lunch meeting with scientists, engineers and artists in the community.

"I learn a lot about technology, how to use it, how it applies to real life and how I can use it in the future,"said student Ore Fawole.

That one-on-one experience hits home for many students.

"There's lots of opportunities for everybody, like everybody can get involved, it's not just like a certain group," explained Myla Fowlkes.

Students also get the chance to step outside the classroom. They have a partnership with the U.S. Forest Service and St. Louis Park nonprofit Tree Trust. Last year the students planted 40 trees outside of the school building.

Brooklyn Middle STEAM School is also the only middle school in the district with a full kitchen for its culinary arts curriculum.

The school also has a well-attended after-school program, with more than 80 percent of the student population participating in it.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

 12/12/2017



 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.