School Spotlight: Birch Grove School for the Arts
Even before you step foot in a Birch Grove School for the Arts classroom, you can tell it's not your typical elementary school. The hallways and classrooms are covered with art work.

"We are an art school. We learn through our passion for the arts," said Principal Jeff Zastrow. 

The bright hues are not the only things that make Birch Grove unique. The school infuses arts throughout its curriculum. Birch Grove has a large drama room with a stage area for students to learn the performing arts. Kids also spend time in the visual arts room, which like the drama room, is double the size of a normal classroom, allowing students to experience many different art styles.

"They kind of forge their own path, and it gives them more investment into what they're doing and what they're learning," said Kory Brown, the school's visual arts teacher. "Art makes them more creative people, we teach here creative problem solving, make them more independent learners. Because they know they could use their art skills to make other subjects fun."

School administrators say the system is working. When students leave here, they have a sense of independence and high self esteem.

"That self-confidence, that inner strength, that ability to take risk and be creative, to make mistakes and learn from them is something we feel that our arts and integration provides kids, that's a little different than the average experience elsewhere," said Zastrow.


Sonya Goins, reporting
sgoins@ccxmedia.org

11/30/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.