School Spotlight: Fair School Crystal
Pablo Picasso said 'every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain one once he grows up.' Chances are Picasso didn’t know about FAIR School Crystal, which incorporates art into just about every facet of a child’s education in order to prepare them to be critical thinkers later in life.

FAIR, which stands for Fine Arts Interdisciplinary Resource School, was conveyed to Robbinsdale Area Schools in 2015 and serves students from all over the district.

"Arts are a huge part of it," says principal Randy Moberg. "It’s who we are. We want to nurture not just the academics, but the whole child."

The middle school students get above average access to arts as extracurricular activities, but arts are also integrated into academics in the classroom. Each grade is paired with an artist in residency to work on projects that involve composing songs, puppetry, photography or spoken word. Then, teachers apply visual thinking strategies to everyday work in the classroom.

"It’s a series of questions we ask to illicit responses to visual art. It’s about visual literacy and about learning critical thinking skills," says Allison Theilen, arts integration coordinator for the school. "Those 21st century thinking skills are what we want kids to have. We want them to be problem solvers and we need them to be creative. We need them to be critical thinker and that crosses all content areas."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

9/28/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.