Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Robbinsdale woman competes to be on magazine cover
A Robbinsdale woman is competing to be a model on a magazine, all in hopes of bringing awareness to an issue close to her heart.

"If I could do one thing, it is to talk to women all over the world about mental health," says Jenifer Emerick in her submission to FabUplus magazine's Curvy Girl Cover contest. In the YouTube video, she talks about not only her appreciation of the magazine, but about her battle with depression.

"Maybe if it just helped a little bit with the stigma of mental health," says Emerick. "It could be the person walking down the street that has everything together but they don’t. Don’t judge them, but help them if you can."

Emerick's submission garnered enough votes to finish in the top ten, which means she is eligible to win prizes, like being the actual cover model. She expects to find out how she finished on Friday, Aug. 11.

FabUplus is a digital magazine out of Canada that "celebrates health, fitness and lifestyle for the curvy community."


Shannon Slatton, reporting
sslatton@ccxmedia.org
on Twitter: @sslatton

8/11/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.