Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Rent increase has New Hope seniors concerned
The campus of North Ridge independent living is home to 124 apartments for adults age 55 and older. Beginning Sept. 1 it will cost more for those seniors to live there. The rents rise to $1,650 a month for a one-bedroom and $1,900 for a two-bedroom.

"We're seeing rents increasing and the incomes of many people not increasing, and that certainly holds true for the senior population," said Chip Halbach, executive director of the Minnesota Housing Partnership. "If you're living off of Social Security, you really can't afford more than $400 for rent, so that's way off the mark of what's being developed now."

Halbach says that for the growing population of senior citizens, finding housing that's affordable will continue to be a problem unless the state and charities step in to help.

"We're hoping in the upcoming legislative session that there will be some initiatives out there that the state can get behind," he said.

It'll be too late for those hoping to lower the rent at North Ridge. Apartment officials say it's a move that has to be done due to rising costs associated with providing services and amenities. They also point that even with the rent increases, their rates are well below the market rate for facilities with similar amenities.

Residents, meanwhile, say they're still hoping apartment management reconsiders its decision.


Delane Cleveland, reporting
dcleveland@twelve.tv

July 16, 2015

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.