Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Big beer sales expected this weekend

Local liquor stores are expecting an influx of customers thanks to several different big events this weekend.

"Hockey, Cinco de Mayo, and then some horse racing," said Nick Stanoch, manager of Princeton's Liquors in Osseo.

The trifecta of entertainment options has liquor stores stocked up on everything from Mexican beer and tequila to margarita mixes and bourbon.

It's a boost for local liquor stores during this week of dreary weather. One manager admits when Minnesota has a team in the playoffs, such as the Wild, they score big at the register.

"Absolutely, there's always an increase when the teams get to the playoffs," said Colleen Caturia, manager of Robbinsdale Wine and Spirits. "And it's a little rare these past few years for one of our teams to be in the playoffs, so everybody's so excited."

According to Nielsen market research, Americans bought more than $600 million worth of beer last year for Cinco de Mayo -- that's more than on Saint Patrick's Day or the Super Bowl.

Delane Cleveland
dcleveland@twelve.tv 

May 2, 2014


 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.