Home  
  About  
  News  
  Sports  
  Cities  
  Create  
  Contact  
Cooper theater production relives golden age of radio
If a bit of nostalgia can make you smile, then you're in for some fun as Cooper High School presents the original theatrical production "On the Air in 1940."

All the cast members play multiple parts, including senior Jimmy Whitcomb. Students produce their own effects live during the play.

"It;s really just a throwback to the 1940s when radio was the number one medium of entertainment and we're just doing a bunch of different skits and commercials and jingles that kind of take you back to that time period," Whitcomb said.

"I think it was really interesting for us to see how much work went into radio even when there wasn't any visual aspects to it," said senior Erin Marshall.

The play is an interesting assignment for kids who can't imagine a world without television, much less smartphones.

"Most of us we were brought up with technology like this, so speaking, like back then we had to call an operator and they would connect us to someone else and it was a long process and, I don't know how it would be back then," said cast member Veroni Quele.

"On the Air in 1940" is tonight, Friday, Dec. 1; and Saturday, Dec. 2 at 7 p.m. at Cooper High School theater.


Neil Pursley, reporting
npursley@ccxmedia.org

12/1/2017

 

 
 Proudly serving the northwest suburbs of Minneapolis, Minnesota, including Brooklyn Center, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, Maple Grove, New Hope, Osseo, Plymouth and Robbinsdale.
ORDER A DVD COPY OF A PROGRAM HERE

CCX News tipline and viewer comments: 763-533-1710
News story ideas and comments: news@ccxmedia.org
CCX Sports story ideas and comments: sports@ccxmedia.org
Community Calendar: calendar@ccxmedia.org

CCX Create - show ideas and comments: create@ccxmedia.org

CCX Cities - story ideas and comments: cities@ccxmedia.org

Northwest Community Television
6900 Winnetka Avenue North
Brooklyn Park, MN 55428
Main Phone: 763-533-8196 
 To learn more about advertising on CCX Media, email Dan Warrick or call him at 763-205-0720
CCX Media Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2017 Northwest Community Television. All Rights Reserved.